"David in particular is one of the most innovative and driven young guitarists on the scene today."”

— Pat Mastelotto - King Crimson

n e w s

l i v e


The Television and Film Academy in Slovakia has decided that the best film music in 2019 has been composed by David Kollar. 
The music for the movie Punk is Now! you can see live. Watch the concerts.

10/10 Progressive Music Planet! 

David Kollar is a guitarist/multi-instrumentalist from Slovakia. While his name might not be one you know, if you have listened to Steven Wilson’s song Detonation or no-man’s tune Love You To Bits (Bit 4), you have heard his amazing guitar work.  

Mr. Kollar has his own wonderful music to present to the world. His latest album is called Sculpting in Time, where the energy of those guitar solos is focused into music of a more jazzy or modern classical nature but isn’t restricted to those labels. 

This album opens with the track Tendre Lundi, a flowing guitar/trumpet interplay. The first steps of the journey begin here. 

The Path gives the listener a bit of dubby bass and effects paint the music. A rest stop on the journey, offering a different view of the sounds. 

A bit of poetry leads off the tune Prisoner of Time, and it carries the listener into intense guitar tonality – a challenge on this audio trip that ultimately arrives to a peaceful expanse of keyboards. 

The closing track, Balada for Jozef, features intercommunication between guitar and horn, a fond remembrance of what has been. 

In our world, everything is connected. We may not see the threads, but they are there. Many people view music from other parts of the world as different. The bedrock is the same, all musicians just add their unique fingerprints to it. 

Music is a universal that brings us together. 

Mr. Kollar’s work here will capture your ears and carry them along. 

Give Sculpting In Time a listen.. 

Rating: 10/10 

1. Tendre Lundi 
2. At Dusk 
3. A.T. 
4. Episode 1. 
5. Sick Doll’s Dream 
6. Episode 2. (Johan) 
7. Deeper to the Fog 
8. The Path 
9. Episode 3. 
10. Reflections 
11. Sunlight 
12. Prisoner of Time 
13. B. 639 
14. Balada for Jozef 

The Players: 

David Kollar – El. guitars, Ronroco, Guitalele, Electronics, Synth, Sound Processing, Bass, Vocal 12 
Erik Truffaz – Trumpet 1, 2, 12,14 
Arve Henriksen – Trumpet 5,10,12 
Pat Mastelotto – Poetry reading 12 
Christian Fennesz – guitar, synth, electronics 11


PRE-ORDER Digital album, Cd, or Limited Edition Vinyl! 
Official release date December 1. Vinyl will be released on March 1. 2020. 

I started to work on the album from October 2018. My initial ideas were sent to Erik Truffaz. Gradually, I engaged Arve Henriksen, Pat Mastelotto and Christian Fennesz in the process of creation. I also played my sketches for Petr Popelka, a painter, who has an atelier above my studio. We were holding endlessly long academic conversations on creation and art. That's why I decided that the album cover should undoubtedly be made by him. Sculpting in Time is inspired by Andrej Tarkovsky's theory that a movie itself is sculpting of time sculptures. I perceive it similarly in music. These 14 tracks on the album are my time sculptures of what I went through last year. 


David as a guest on new NO MAN ALBUM 

Tim Bowness 


"In terms of recording, the first part of this year was spent re-singing the vocals for no-man’s new album and adding guest musicians to the framework SW and I had come up with in October 2018. 

Bringing professionalism and skills aplenty to the table, Ash Soan, Adam Holzman, David Kollar and the Dave Desmond Brass Quintet greatly enhanced the energy and texture of what was already there, while Bruno Ellingham – known for his work with Massive Attack, amongst many others – provided the final mixes and particularly enhanced the dynamics and rhythms."


Počajevská lavra je mystické miesto. Traja mnísi sa tu zbavili traumatizujúcej minulosti, tu nachádzajú svoj pokoj a zmysel životného naplnenia. Ich príbehy sú metaforami premenenia, osvietenia a zduchovnenia na pozadí divokej ukrajinskej reality. Duchovná i hmotná bieda a zúfalstvo sveta vytvárajú silný sociálno-antropologický konflikt. Film s úctou pozoruje život mníchov, ale aj okázalú nádheru kláštorného prostredia. Človek by sa mal ponoriť do svojho vnútra, aby objavil a pochopil význam vecí podstatných pre život. Duchovný život nie je výsadou vyvolených veriacich, je to potenciál každého človeka. Vždy je tu príležitosť na premenenie, na nový začiatok.

The Holy Dormition Pochayiv Lavra is a mystical place. Here, three monks were freed from the trauma they had suffered in the past; this is where they find inner peace and a sense of purpose to life. Their stories are metaphors of transformation, enlightenment, and spiritualization against the backdrop of the raw Ukrainian reality. The spiritual and material poverty and despair found in the world create strong socio-anthropological conflict. The film observes the life of the monks respectfully but also shows the ostentatious beauty of the monastery. People should focus on their soul to discover and comprehend the meaning of the things that are significant for life. Spiritual life is not a privilege accorded to the chosen devout but is in the potential of every human being. There is always an opportunity for transformation, a new beginning.

Production / Produkcia: Filmpark production (SK) Co-production / Koprodukcia: Rozhlas a televízia Slovenska (SK) Producer / Producent: Peter Neveďal Director / Réžia: Erik Praus DOP / Kamera: Peter Kováč Editors / Strih: Peter Harum Music / Hudba: David Kollár Sound / Zvuk: Michal Džadoň Dramaturgia: Ingrid Mayerová, Ján Gogola Cast / Hrajú: otec Gabriel, otec Vicilentius, otec Nazarij